Outdoors Latest

Disaster relief available due to drought

Agriculture Secretary Thomas J. Vilsack declared a natural disaster in North Carolina based on losses caused by drought that occurred beginning Nov. 1, 2023, and continuing. 

As a result of this natural disaster, four North Carolina counties were declared eligible for federal disaster assistance, including Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency (EM) loans for eligible family farmers. Those primary disaster counties are Cherokee, Clay, Macon and Swain counties.

In addition to those four primary disaster counties, Graham, Haywood and Jackson are named as contiguous counties where eligible family farmers may qualify for FSA EM loan assistance.

Farmers in those counties may apply for EM loans for production losses. The deadline is Nov. 25 for filing an application. The local office is located at 61 Triple Springs Road in Hendersonville.Office hours are 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Smokey Mountain News Logo
Go to top
Payment Information


At our inception 20 years ago, we chose to be different. Unlike other news organizations, we made the decision to provide in-depth, regional reporting free to anyone who wanted access to it. We don’t plan to change that model. Support from our readers will help us maintain and strengthen the editorial independence that is crucial to our mission to help make Western North Carolina a better place to call home. If you are able, please support The Smoky Mountain News.

The Smoky Mountain News is a wholly private corporation. Reader contributions support the journalistic mission of SMN to remain independent. Your support of SMN does not constitute a charitable donation. If you have a question about contributing to SMN, please contact us.