Archived News

Newman, Gelbaugh win Sylva election

Newman, Gelbaugh win Sylva election

The 2021-2025 Sylva Board of Commissioners will feature one new face, according to unofficial results from today’s municipal election.

Political newcomer Natalie Newman took the top spot with 140 votes, while incumbent Mary Kelley Gelbaugh secured the second seat up for grabs this year with 125 votes. Newman ran a write-in campaign in 2019, but this is her first time appearing on a ballot. Gelbaugh’s win earns her a third term on the board.

Incumbent Barbara Hamilton will leave the board this December after coming in five votes behind Gelbaugh. Carrie McBane finished fourth with 79 votes, and Luther Jones, whose name appeared on the ballot but announced his withdrawal from the race earlier this fall, received 15 votes.

Mayor Lynda Sossamon, who ran unopposed, will also remain on the board for four more years.

The results proved far more decisive than in the 2019 election, when McBane and Commissioner Ben Guiney tied for second place, ultimately deciding the election with a coin toss. However, the 2021 election also yielded far fewer votes. In preliminary results for the 2019 election, 692 votes were counted compared to 479 this year. Because each person can vote for two candidates, the number of voters will be far smaller than the number of votes.

The next term will likely prove pivotal for the small town, not least due to the N.C. 107 road project. The new commissioners will see Sylva through a period that will include a hugely disruptive right-of-way process and the first year and a half of a construction process estimated to last three to four years.

Related Items

Other key issues will include guiding trail development and tourism at Pinnacle Park, addressing ongoing labor and housing shortages, and continuing to shepherd Sylva thorugh the on-going COVID-19 pandemic. The new town board will also inherit the deep divisions left behind following last year’s debates about the proper framing of Confederate history and an ongoing conversation about what law enforcement should look like in the small town.

The results

Natalie Newman                        140 votes (29.23%)

Mary Kelley Gelbaugh             125 (26.1%)

Barbara W. Hamilton              120 (25.05%)

Carrie McBane                          79 (16.49%)

Luther Jones                             15 (3.13%)

Smokey Mountain News Logo
Go to top
Payment Information


At our inception 20 years ago, we chose to be different. Unlike other news organizations, we made the decision to provide in-depth, regional reporting free to anyone who wanted access to it. We don’t plan to change that model. Support from our readers will help us maintain and strengthen the editorial independence that is crucial to our mission to help make Western North Carolina a better place to call home. If you are able, please support The Smoky Mountain News.

The Smoky Mountain News is a wholly private corporation. Reader contributions support the journalistic mission of SMN to remain independent. Your support of SMN does not constitute a charitable donation. If you have a question about contributing to SMN, please contact us.