Sponsored: Nutrition Q & A
What is tempeh?
Tempeh is a fermented soy product made from whole soy beans and then formed so it can be cut or portioned. Tempeh is high is protein and offers those that are vegan or vegetarian a good way to get protein. Since tempeh is made from soy beans it is also a good source of fiber, typically about 5 grams of fiber per serving.
Often tempeh is pre-seasoned and has flavors added. You can sear tempeh in a hot pan in a little oil or butter and use it as you would meat in burritos, wraps, sandwiches or to top salads.
At Ingles Markets you can find locally (Barnardsville NC) made tempeh from Smiling Hara in the PRODUCE section. www.smilingharatempeh.com
Leah McGrath, RDN, LDN
Ingles Markets Corporate Dietitian