Archived Outdoors

Emergency loans available for flood-affected farms

Twelve counties in Western North Carolina have received disaster declarations from U.S. Department of Agriculture Secretary Thomas Vilsack due to flooding from Tropical Storm Fred. 

The disaster declaration includes Haywood, Jackson, Macon, Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Henderson, McDowell, Madison, Mitchell, Transylvania and Yancey counties. In addition, Swain, Avery, Burke, Graham, Polk and Rutherford counties were declared contiguous disaster counties. 

Farm operators in both primary and contiguous disaster counties are eligible for certain assistance, including emergency loans from the Farm Service Agency, provided certain eligibility requirements are met. Farmers have eight months from the Oct. 20 disaster declaration to apply for emergency loans. 

More information, as well as applications, are available at

Leave a comment

1 comment

  • Greetings from the Temple of the Great Illuminati and the EliteTemple of the light and elightenment.???. For more information kindly send a message back. Message the Grandmaster on WhatsApp for more information +33756754252 Okay ? Light and love ???

    posted by clark sam

    Friday, 11/12/2021

Smokey Mountain News Logo
Go to top
Payment Information


At our inception 20 years ago, we chose to be different. Unlike other news organizations, we made the decision to provide in-depth, regional reporting free to anyone who wanted access to it. We don’t plan to change that model. Support from our readers will help us maintain and strengthen the editorial independence that is crucial to our mission to help make Western North Carolina a better place to call home. If you are able, please support The Smoky Mountain News.

The Smoky Mountain News is a wholly private corporation. Reader contributions support the journalistic mission of SMN to remain independent. Your support of SMN does not constitute a charitable donation. If you have a question about contributing to SMN, please contact us.