Archived News

Certification process boots three candidates from tribal election

Certification process boots three candidates from tribal election

Three candidates were dropped from the list of contenders for tribal office with today's release of a list of certified canddiates from the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians Board of Elections. The list of certified candidates did not include Teresa McCoy and Missy Crowe, who had both filed to run for principal chief, or Sharon Bradley, who wanted to run for Big Y School Board. 

According to tribal law, a tribal member can be disqualified for running for office for any of six reasons. Those reasons include having committed a felony, participating in defrauding the tribe, being impeached and removed from office, resigning from a tribal office while under a criminal investigation, being more than 90 days in default of a debt to the tribe or not meeting residency requirements. 

McCoy and Crowe have both gained certification to run for election in the past. McCoy represented Big Cove on Tribal Council for 20 years and also launched three unsuccessful runs for the vice chief's office. Crowe has run for various offices in the past, though unsuccessfully. 

Certified candidates for the 2019 election are: 


Principal Chief

Related Items

  • Richard Sneed
  • Carroll “Peanut” Crowe
  • Gary R. Ledford
  • Phillip Ellington

Vice Chief

  • Alan “B” Ensley
  • Frank Pete Taylor
  • Ben Parker
  • Jim Owle
  • Albert Martin
  • Anita Welch Lossiah
  • James Bud Smith
  • Terri Henry

Snowbird/Cherokee County Tribal Council

  • Adam Wachacha
  • Janell Rattler
  • Bucky Brown
  • Sherry Smoker

Birdtown Tribal Council

  • Albert Rose
  • Boyd Owle
  • Ashley Sessions
  • Nelson Lambert
  • Curtis Wildcatt
  • Alyne Stamper

Painttown Tribal Council

  • Tommye Saunooke
  • Dike Sneed
  • Lisa Taylor
  • Cherie Bird Rose
  • Pamela Sneed

Big Y/Wolfetown Tribal Council

  • Bo Crowe
  • Bill Taylor
  • Tony Cabe
  • Jess “Fonzie” Sneed
  • Jeremy Wilson
  • Paula “Cricket” Brown Wojtkowski
  • Sam “Frell” Reed
  • Chelsea Saunooke
  • Nathanial “Bunsey” Crowe
  • James David Jumper

Yellowhill Tribal Council

  • Tom Wahnetah
  • David T. Wolfe
  • Rose Shell-Maney
  • Tawania Ensley
  • Stephanie Saunooke French

Big Cove Tribal Council

  • Fred Penick
  • Richard French
  • Renee Long Cole
  • Perry Shell
  • Walter French

Painttown School Board

  • Regina Ledford Rosario
  • Charlotte Ann Saunooke

Big Y School Board

  • Tara Reed-Cooper

Yellowhill School Board

  • Jennifer Thompson
  • Teresa Jumper Santa Maria

The Primary Election will be held Thursday, June 6, and the General Election will be Thursday, Sept. 5.

Leave a comment

Smokey Mountain News Logo
Go to top
Payment Information


At our inception 20 years ago, we chose to be different. Unlike other news organizations, we made the decision to provide in-depth, regional reporting free to anyone who wanted access to it. We don’t plan to change that model. Support from our readers will help us maintain and strengthen the editorial independence that is crucial to our mission to help make Western North Carolina a better place to call home. If you are able, please support The Smoky Mountain News.

The Smoky Mountain News is a wholly private corporation. Reader contributions support the journalistic mission of SMN to remain independent. Your support of SMN does not constitute a charitable donation. If you have a question about contributing to SMN, please contact us.