At our inception 20 years ago, we chose to be different. Unlike other news organizations, we made the decision to provide in-depth, regional reporting free to anyone who wanted access to it. We don’t plan to change that model. Support from our readers will help us maintain and strengthen the editorial independence that is crucial to our mission to help make Western North Carolina a better place to call home. If you are able, please support The Smoky Mountain News.

The Smoky Mountain News is a wholly private corporation. Reader contributions support the journalistic mission of SMN to remain independent. Your support of SMN does not constitute a charitable donation. If you have a question about contributing to SMN, please contact us.

2016 Election Primary Results

election time largePreliminary results are current as of March 15. Look for more in-depth coverage of the local and state races online Wednesday, March 16.

2016 Primary Election results

Votes for Haywood County commissioners


Brandon Rogers — 4,909

Kevin Ensley — 3,714

Greg Burrell — 2,234


Steve Brown — 4,680

Robin Black — 3,428

Charles Boyd — 3,183

Terry Ramey — 2,220

Votes for Macon County commissioners (Republicans)

District 2
Karl Gillespie — 3,151
Ron Haven — 2,424

District 3
Paul Higdon — 2,618
Manny Carrion — 1,719
Greg Boyer — 1,400

Votes for Swain County commissioners (Democrats)

Steve Moon — 744
David Monteith — 725
David Anthony — 507
Wayne Dover — 449
Boyd Gunter — 315

NC House of Representatives District 120 (Republican)

Kevin Corbin — 10,028

Elliott Southworth — 3,550

NC House of Representatives District 119 (Republican)

Mike Clampitt — 3,941

Aaron Littlefield — 2,724

NC House of Representatives District 118 (Democrat)

Rhonda Schandevel — 5,938

Reese Steen — 4,304

Connect NC bond referendum

For — 1.37 million

Against — 727,186

Go to top