Ask Leah! The Ingles Dietitian

Sponsored: Know the different grades of meat

ingles dietitianQUESTION: What are the different grades of meat and what does it mean?

ANSWER: The major grades of meat are: Prime, Choice, Select. These are known as “quality grades” and reflect the tenderness and juiciness of the meat due to marbling (fat content) of the meat.


At Ingles we only sell Prime and Choice cuts. A Prime cut would be what is typically sold in a hotel or a restaurant and is the highest quality in terms of tenderness and juiciness. The next highest grade is Choice and it is flavorful but has less marbling (fat) than a cut that is Prime grade. Leaner cuts of beef with less marbling (that have the words round or loin) respond better to slow cooking methods.

Leah McGrath, RDN, LDN

Ingles Markets Corporate Dietitian

Related Items


Smokey Mountain News Logo
Go to top
Payment Information


At our inception 20 years ago, we chose to be different. Unlike other news organizations, we made the decision to provide in-depth, regional reporting free to anyone who wanted access to it. We don’t plan to change that model. Support from our readers will help us maintain and strengthen the editorial independence that is crucial to our mission to help make Western North Carolina a better place to call home. If you are able, please support The Smoky Mountain News.

The Smoky Mountain News is a wholly private corporation. Reader contributions support the journalistic mission of SMN to remain independent. Your support of SMN does not constitute a charitable donation. If you have a question about contributing to SMN, please contact us.