At our inception 20 years ago, we chose to be different. Unlike other news organizations, we made the decision to provide in-depth, regional reporting free to anyone who wanted access to it. We don’t plan to change that model. Support from our readers will help us maintain and strengthen the editorial independence that is crucial to our mission to help make Western North Carolina a better place to call home. If you are able, please support The Smoky Mountain News.

The Smoky Mountain News is a wholly private corporation. Reader contributions support the journalistic mission of SMN to remain independent. Your support of SMN does not constitute a charitable donation. If you have a question about contributing to SMN, please contact us.

Breweries west of Asheville

Andrews

• Andrews Brewing — 828.321.2006 • www.andrewsbrewing.com

• Hoppy Trout Brewing Company — 828.835.2111 • www.hoppytroutbrewing.com

 

Bryson City

• Mountain Layers Brewing — www.mtnlayersbeer.com

• Nantahala Brewing — 828.488.2337 • www.nantahalabrewing.com

 

Canton

• 7 Clans Brewing — www.7clansbrewing.com

• BearWaters Brewing — 828.246.0602 • www.bwbrewing.com

 

Cashiers

• Whiteside Brewing — 828.743.6000 • www.whitesidebrewing.com

 

Franklin

• Currahee Brewing — 828.634.0078 • www.curraheebrew.com

• Lazy Hiker Brewing — 828.342.5133 • www.lazyhikerbrewing.com

 

Hayesville

• Haynesville Brewing — 828.835.6010

• Nocturnal Brewing — 828.305.7337 • www.nocturnalbrewing.com

• Valley River Brewery828.389.1472 • www.valleyriverbreweries.com

 

Highlands

• Satulah Mountain Brewing — 828.482.9794 • www.satulahmountainbrewing.com

 

Murphy

• Valley River Brewery — 828.837.2337 • www.valleyriverbreweries.com

 

Sapphire

• Sapphire Valley Brewing — 828.743.0220 • www.sapphirebrewingcompany.com

 

Sylva

• Balsam Falls Brewing — 828.631.1987  www.facebook.com/balsamfallsbrewing

• Innovation Brewing — 828.586.9678 • www.innovation-brewing.com

• Nantahala Brewing (Outpost) — 828.641.9797 • www.nantahalabrewing.com

 

Waynesville

• Boojum Brewing — 828.944.0888 • www.boojumbrewing.com

• Frog Level Brewing — 828.454.5664 • www.froglevelbrewing.com 

Receive our FREE Friday Xtra newsletter

Go to top