Sat04192014

     Subscribe  |  Contact  |  Advertise  |  RSS Feed Other Publications

Wednesday, 07 August 2013 00:00

Tickets on sale for WCU performances

Written by 

art chocolatedropsTickets for the Western Carolina University Arts and Cultural Events Performance Series will go on sale Tuesday, Aug. 6.

 

The series opens at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, Sept. 11, in the John W. Bardo Fine and Performing Arts Center with “Sacred Music Sacred Dance,” featuring the multiphonic singers of Drepung Loseling Monastery of Tibet. Tickets are $5 for students and $10 for all others.

Other upcoming ACE events include: The Mystical Arts of Tibet’s Sand Mandala, created through the process of painting with colored sands, which will be on display from Monday, Sept. 9 to Friday, Sept. 13. Free.

Sublime Frequencies will screen “Vodoun Gods on the Slave Coast” and “The Divine River: Ceremonial Pageantry in the Sahel” Sept. 24-25. 

The Nai Ni Chen Dance Company will present “Song of the Phoenix” at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, Oct. 2. Tickets are $5 for students and $10 for all others.

The Alash Tuvan Throat Singing Ensemble will perform at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, Oct. 16. Free for students and $5 for all others.

Recording artist Lee Lessack, mezzo-soprano Joanne O’Brien and musical director John Boswell will perform “An Enchanted Broadway Holiday Show” at 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, Dec. 3. Tickets are $5.

Imago Theatre will stage “FROGZ,” a family-friendly show with a cast that ranges from comedic amphibians to acrobatic larvae, at 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 11. Tickets are $5.

Acclaimed America act The Carolina Chocolate Drops will perform at 7:30 p.m. Monday, March 3. Tickets are $5 for students and $10 for all others.

Award-winning novelist Colum McCann will speak at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, April 2. Free.

bardoartscenter.wcu.edu or 828.227.2479.

blog comments powered by Disqus
Read 480 times

Media

blog comments powered by Disqus