Thu04242014

     Subscribe  |  Contact  |  Advertise  |  RSS Feed Other Publications

Arts + Entertainment
Wednesday, 04 April 2007 00:00

Ash bats and the boys of summer

Wednesday, 28 March 2007 00:00

The storied bloodroot

Wednesday, 21 March 2007 00:00

Neufeld’s book on Appalachia

Wednesday, 14 March 2007 00:00

Tradition of the cockfight

Wednesday, 07 March 2007 00:00

Accounts of a horned serpent

Wednesday, 21 February 2007 00:00

Old remedies for the toothache

Wednesday, 14 February 2007 00:00

A chip off the ole mauler block

Wednesday, 07 February 2007 00:00

A harrowing tale of bear encounters

Wednesday, 31 January 2007 00:00

Recounting natural history

Wednesday, 24 January 2007 00:00

Medicinal plants of the Southern Appalachians

This Must Be the Place

  • This must be the place

    art theplaceMary Harper was quite possibly the first real friend I made when I moved to Western North Carolina.

    With my apartment a few blocks away from the Water’n Hole Bar & Grill in Waynesville, I ventured down there at night trying to see what was up in this town, trying to make some friends, and trying not to feel alone and isolated in a new place where I was unknown to all who surrounded me. Harper, with her million-dollar smile and swagger, immediately made me feel at home. 

    Written on Wednesday, 23 April 2014 00:00 Read more...