Wed04232014

     Subscribe  |  Contact  |  Advertise  |  RSS Feed Other Publications

Arts + Entertainment
Wednesday, 10 October 2007 00:00

Beauty of the cardinal flower

Wednesday, 03 October 2007 00:00

Shrills in the night

Wednesday, 26 September 2007 00:00

Sweet bubby bush

Wednesday, 19 September 2007 00:00

Saying farewell to summer

Wednesday, 12 September 2007 00:00

Walnut toxicity

Wednesday, 05 September 2007 00:00

Enchanting the summer evening

Wednesday, 22 August 2007 00:00

Remarkable red cedar

Wednesday, 15 August 2007 00:00

Ginkgo — a living fossil

Wednesday, 01 August 2007 00:00

Hollyhocks and reminders of the past

Wednesday, 25 July 2007 00:00

Sicklefin redhorse and the Cherokee

This Must Be the Place

  • This must be the place

    art theplaceMary Harper was quite possibly the first real friend I made when I moved to Western North Carolina.

    With my apartment a few blocks away from the Water’n Hole Bar & Grill in Waynesville, I ventured down there at night trying to see what was up in this town, trying to make some friends, and trying not to feel alone and isolated in a new place where I was unknown to all who surrounded me. Harper, with her million-dollar smile and swagger, immediately made me feel at home. 

    Written on Wednesday, 23 April 2014 00:00 Read more...