Thu04242014

     Subscribe  |  Contact  |  Advertise  |  RSS Feed Other Publications

Arts + Entertainment
Wednesday, 16 November 2011 14:29

A poetic tribute from a son of the Smokies

Wednesday, 09 November 2011 20:25

Ginseng, ferns and an ancient dialect

Wednesday, 26 October 2011 13:06

Casual, unplanned — and heavenly

Wednesday, 05 October 2011 14:01

Old-timers and their colorful plant names

Wednesday, 28 September 2011 13:39

An Appalachian ‘original genius’

Wednesday, 21 September 2011 14:51

Shooting frogs through the car window

Wednesday, 14 September 2011 12:26

Otters are what beautiful aspires to be

Wednesday, 07 September 2011 14:24

Monkshood — both beautiful and deadly

Wednesday, 31 August 2011 13:26

Screech owls don’t really screech

This Must Be the Place

  • This must be the place

    art theplaceMary Harper was quite possibly the first real friend I made when I moved to Western North Carolina.

    With my apartment a few blocks away from the Water’n Hole Bar & Grill in Waynesville, I ventured down there at night trying to see what was up in this town, trying to make some friends, and trying not to feel alone and isolated in a new place where I was unknown to all who surrounded me. Harper, with her million-dollar smile and swagger, immediately made me feel at home. 

    Written on Wednesday, 23 April 2014 00:00 Read more...