Thu04242014

     Subscribe  |  Contact  |  Advertise  |  RSS Feed Other Publications

Arts + Entertainment
Wednesday, 06 June 2007 00:00

Another day, and it’s off to the races

Wednesday, 23 May 2007 00:00

It’s all, really, about the tadpoles

Wednesday, 09 May 2007 00:00

Bush’s obstinance is a rare opportunity

Wednesday, 25 April 2007 00:00

Media blew it at Virginia Tech

Wednesday, 11 April 2007 00:00

Some people — all the time

Wednesday, 28 March 2007 00:00

Another deadline – not a problem

Wednesday, 14 March 2007 00:00

High time for a new morning ritual

Wednesday, 28 February 2007 00:00

Now what will the wagging tongues talk about?

Wednesday, 14 February 2007 00:00

A real-life love story – sort of

Wednesday, 31 January 2007 00:00

Just a blip, but meaningful to some

This Must Be the Place

  • This must be the place

    art theplaceMary Harper was quite possibly the first real friend I made when I moved to Western North Carolina.

    With my apartment a few blocks away from the Water’n Hole Bar & Grill in Waynesville, I ventured down there at night trying to see what was up in this town, trying to make some friends, and trying not to feel alone and isolated in a new place where I was unknown to all who surrounded me. Harper, with her million-dollar smile and swagger, immediately made me feel at home. 

    Written on Wednesday, 23 April 2014 00:00 Read more...