Thu04242014

     Subscribe  |  Contact  |  Advertise  |  RSS Feed Other Publications

Arts + Entertainment
Wednesday, 10 October 2007 00:00

Drive-thru decision-making is maddening

Wednesday, 26 September 2007 00:00

What I don’t know about parenting

Wednesday, 12 September 2007 00:00

For gays, desperation too often a way of life

Wednesday, 05 September 2007 00:00

Roll the credits, please – ASU 34, Mich. 32

Wednesday, 29 August 2007 00:00

Vick a poster child for depraved stars

Wednesday, 15 August 2007 00:00

Is summer over already?

Wednesday, 01 August 2007 00:00

Recommended diversions

Wednesday, 01 August 2007 00:00

Give me a deck of cards and no sand

Wednesday, 18 July 2007 00:00

Al Gore to ride to the Democrats’ rescue

Wednesday, 04 July 2007 00:00

A pack rat’s nightmare – a yard sale

This Must Be the Place

  • This must be the place

    art theplaceMary Harper was quite possibly the first real friend I made when I moved to Western North Carolina.

    With my apartment a few blocks away from the Water’n Hole Bar & Grill in Waynesville, I ventured down there at night trying to see what was up in this town, trying to make some friends, and trying not to feel alone and isolated in a new place where I was unknown to all who surrounded me. Harper, with her million-dollar smile and swagger, immediately made me feel at home. 

    Written on Wednesday, 23 April 2014 00:00 Read more...