Thu04242014

     Subscribe  |  Contact  |  Advertise  |  RSS Feed Other Publications

Arts + Entertainment
Wednesday, 20 May 2009 17:16

The many rewards of home improvement

Wednesday, 06 May 2009 16:17

Miss California takes on gay marriage

Wednesday, 22 April 2009 16:53

Fighting the fear that comes at night

Wednesday, 08 April 2009 15:49

Get ready for life in the fast lane

Wednesday, 25 March 2009 20:29

Around here, March madness is a religion

Wednesday, 11 March 2009 19:46

Mr. February, me and my wife make happy

Wednesday, 25 February 2009 19:32

For young illegals, a coming-of-age quandary

Wednesday, 11 February 2009 17:38

For Terry, the world was too much

Wednesday, 28 January 2009 16:39

Quieting the monster cries

This Must Be the Place

  • This must be the place

    art theplaceMary Harper was quite possibly the first real friend I made when I moved to Western North Carolina.

    With my apartment a few blocks away from the Water’n Hole Bar & Grill in Waynesville, I ventured down there at night trying to see what was up in this town, trying to make some friends, and trying not to feel alone and isolated in a new place where I was unknown to all who surrounded me. Harper, with her million-dollar smile and swagger, immediately made me feel at home. 

    Written on Wednesday, 23 April 2014 00:00 Read more...