Wed04232014

     Subscribe  |  Contact  |  Advertise  |  RSS Feed Other Publications

Wednesday, 01 August 2012 13:23

Tunnel work to cause delays on I-40

Written by 

The N.C. Department of Transportation will conduct inspections of three tunnels in the Pigeon River Gorge on Interstate 40 in Haywood County, causing traffic delays for motorists during August.

The tunnels being examined are located between the Tennessee border and Exit 15 (Fines Creek). One of the tunnels is on the eastbound side of the interstate and one is on the westbound side.

All work will take place between 8 p.m. and 6 a.m. Work on the two tunnels will be conducted by shutting down one lane of traffic.

The tunnels on I-40 East will be examined on the following dates:

Eastbound tunnel: Sunday, July 29-Wednesday, Aug. 1, and Sunday, Aug. 5-Monday, Aug. 6

Westbound tunnel: Tuesday, Aug. 7-Wednesday, Aug. 8, and Sunday, Aug. 12-Wednesday, Aug. 15.

For real-time travel information at any time, call 511 or visit www.ncdot.gov/travel.

blog comments powered by Disqus
Read 1196 times

Media

blog comments powered by Disqus

This Must Be the Place

  • This must be the place

    art theplaceMary Harper was quite possibly the first real friend I made when I moved to Western North Carolina.

    With my apartment a few blocks away from the Water’n Hole Bar & Grill in Waynesville, I ventured down there at night trying to see what was up in this town, trying to make some friends, and trying not to feel alone and isolated in a new place where I was unknown to all who surrounded me. Harper, with her million-dollar smile and swagger, immediately made me feel at home. 

    Written on Wednesday, 23 April 2014 00:00 Read more...